Truly Thankful

Last day of the month, and I have managed to find something to be thankful for every day this month. These are the last ones posted on Facebook:

  • Day 25 – I am thankful for the internet, which has connected me to so many new friends that I hope to meet for real. Thank you for sharing your lives and thoughts.
  • Day 26 – I am thankful that I live somewhere with seasons. I may not always enjoy the weather, but I do like having 4 seasons. Maybe just not all in one day.
  • Day 27 – I am thankful for my ancestors who passed on my love of working with fiber, even though I never met them.
  • Day 28 – I am thankful that I have people in my life who really understand me
  • Day 29 – I am thankful that I am comfortable in my own company. I know too many women who think they are whole only when they have a man in their life and settle for less than they deserve.
  • Day 30 – I am thankful that I have so much to be thankful for!

The last 4 1/2 years have been hard, I won’t kid anyone about that. I have lost so many special people and my job. Money is really tight. At the same time, I have so much to be thankful for. If we would all focus on the blessings in our lives instead of the negatives, we would all be so much happier.

I am sharing the picture of the bride from Montana with her shawl. She shared the picture of her and me on Facebook, so her she is in all her glory. She was Daughter’s roommate all through college and after, and very, very shawl-worthy. I am just so glad that it matched her dress so well (almost looks like I had seen the dress before hand and planned things. Nope, just lucky).

Rachel and me with shawl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately, I do have to report that NaNo was a fail this year. I got to just over 17,000 words. I just couldn’t get anywhere with my story. I will keep plugging away at it, because I do think there is a story there, but it did not want to cooperate with the NaNo timeline.  Oh well, next year. I would encourage anyone thinking about it to take part. It is a very interesting self-challenge, and it continues to amaze me how much more creative I am in general during November when I am trying to put those 50,000 words done.

On the knitting front, I am still working on the uber:secret Christmas knitting, so no pictures of that. I just bought the latest issue of Interweave Knits, specifically for an article on knitting infinite cables. I would love to be able to knit a vest with my celtic knot ram. I may start with something easier, like this tree of life.celtictree2

One Response to “Truly Thankful”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Bride and bridal shawl are lovely! What a special gift too.

    Very interesting about NaNo. Fiction does seem to take on a life of it’s own, doesn’t it? I have enough trouble with nonfiction, LOL.

    Love your daily thing to be thankful for. That should be a habit for all of us.

Leave a Reply

