Thankful

I was prompted at the beginning of the month to remember the things that I am thankful for. I’ve been posting them daily on Facebook, and thought I would share them here too. So far this month, this is what I have:

  • Day 1 – I am thankful that my Daughter still comes to visit me in my dreams on a regular basis.
  • Day 2 – I am thankful that, despite set backs and challenges, I am still able to have my little piece of land and my beasties.
  • Day 3 – I am thankful for friends that are family, and family that are friends
  • Day 4 – I am thankful for my depression, for it makes me appreciate the good days so much more.
  • Day 5 – I am thankful for all three of my children, and for the lessons that they have taught me
  • Day 6 – I am thankful that I live in a country where political discourse is possible and I am free to vote for the candidates of my choice without fear.
  • Day 7 – I am thankful that, while I am not rich in money, I am wealthy beyond belief in the things that truly matter – friends, family, health, and spiritual peace of mind.
  • Day 8 – I am thankful for my aches and pains, which remind me that I am still alive.
  • Day 9 – I am thankful for the beauty that greets me every day when I look around.
  • Day 10 – I am thankful for the animals that share my life, and for the things they have taught me and given me.

More to come as the month progresses. It also reminded me that one year, when the kids were little, I cut out a bunch of construction paper leaves, and we all wrote on them most days. On Thanksgiving day, I spread the leaves on the table, and we took turns reading them through dinner. It was an interesting exercise, especially to learn the things that my children were thankful for. I wish I could say we made it a yearly tradition, but we didn’t. I still have those leaves tucked away somewhere. I should dig them out.

NaNoWriMo continues, but not as easily as last year’s effort. I started with the first line of Stephen King’s “The Gunslinger” (book 1 of the Dark Tower series). Mine is a very different story from his, but it is not flowing well at this point. I am about 7,000 words behind where I should be, and I am tending to ramble, filling in words that have nothing really to do with the story. But I think I can still do it (feeling like the Little Engine at this point, “I think I can, I think I can”). My character really isn’t taking charge like the woman I was writing about last year, and he seems to be perfectly happy leaving me in charge. She was not! I had ideas about what I wanted to write, and she would take over and tell me what she wanted to do instead. I still have no idea where he’s going, and I’m 9,000 words in.

The weather has finally decided to be winter. Tuesday it was over 70 degrees. I drove down to drop off my ballot with my window open. This morning, I woke to this:  I am really glad I filled all the waterers yesterday when I fed, and that I brought in extra wood for the stove. It is pretty to look at, but I have to go over the mountains twice in the next 10 days. I don’t worry about my driving, it’s the rest of those idiots on the road that think that just because they have 4 wheel drive they can drive like crazy people. Next Friday I head to Kid the Younger’s and on Saturday we will head up to Tacoma for “Friend’s Thanksgiving”, a tradition started by Daughter in middle school and transferred to her college friends. I love that they still carry it on, and that they include me in it. Then right after I get back from that, it will be time to take the turkeys to the butcher. Laura and I are making a road trip of it. She is letting me piggyback on her butcher date, since they are booked solid this time of year. We will both make appointments for next year while we are there. It is a different place than I used last year. She has used them in the past and has been very happy. Instead of dropping the birds off in cages by 7:30 am like I had to last year, we don’t have to be there until 12 (much more manageable, given the distance to drive), and they will process our birds only until they are done. It means fresh turkey for Thanksgiving, not frozen! It also means I need to figure out how many birds I want to raise next year, so that I can give the butcher a number when I make my appointment for next year. Off to figure that out!

One Response to “Thankful”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Lovely post Sue. So often we forget to be thankful for the very things we are tempted to complain about. It is so true that they hold blessings of their own.

    Interesting about the writing. Mine of course is nonfiction, so yours is an amazing experience.

Leave a Reply

