Getting Ready for OFFF

For all my good intentions, I just can’t seem to post on anything like a regular basis. I mean to, and then life happens, and soon it’s been weeks. I admire those of you out there who find something new to say on a regular timetable, and can’t really imagine having something new to tell the world every day. Oh well, it is what it is.

I am busy trying to get ready for Oregon Flock & Fiber Festival (OFFF) this weekend. If you happen to be in the Portland, Oregon area, head on over to the Canby fairgrounds. I’ll be in the sheep barn, sharing a booth with Laura. Next to us will be the booth for the American Romeldale/CVM Association. It’s a fun show, with lots of great vendors and animals too. I still want to spend a day at the carder, since I’ve got some black Romeldale and black alpaca just begging to be blended with some gold angelina. I’ve also spent several days working on a pair of new farm signs. I will hang them back to back at OFFF, so I’ll be visible from across the barn. I made 2 so that I can put them up in the sheep and goat barns at next years fairs.  Due to privacy issues, I have blurred out my e-mail and phone number, both of which are on the signs. This is a large version of my business card. I designed the celtic knot ram, and I’m pretty happy with how this turned out. Here’s hoping they hold up for many years use!

I’ve also managed to finish 2 more patterns to print out and take to OFFF, one for a scarf and one for a pair of mittens. After I get back from Canby, I’ll work on getting all my patterns up on Ravelry for sale. I’ve knit these both up as demos, and this is my mom modeling for me.  I couldn’t convince her to put on a long sleeved shirt, since it’s almost 90 degrees today.

The goat girls have gone off to visit with a husband. I’ll get them back in a month or so, hopefully pregnant. I am very excited about the prospect of having fresh goat milk to make cheese with as well as to drink. I’m using a boar buck, since I’m not interested in registered babies at this time. The breeder I got the girls from normally waits until her does are yearlings to breed them, but I’ve done my research & I’m comfortable with the idea of breeding them now. They are both a good size, and this way they will kid as yearlings. If I show them at fair again next summer, they will show as freshened yearlings instead of dry, and I won’t have to wait a whole year to get milk.

The ewe lambs are still in the movable pen, mowing the front yard for me. They are doing a much better job than the adult ewes did, and (knock wood), haven’t escaped from the pen. Depending on the lushness of the patch I put them over, they get moved in 4 – 24 hours. It’s a lot of work, but they are growing well. It always strikes me as funny how they will be belly deep in goodies to eat, but everyone’s head is through the fence and they are eating stuff outside the pen. Silly girls.

These are the results of Laura and my ice-dyeing a few weeks ago. We are both very happy with how these all turned out. Some will be used in the raffle drawings we have at OFFF, and the rest will be for sale. I may have to get some supplies to make a bunch of t-shirts for myself.

    

One Response to “Getting Ready for OFFF”

  1. Leigh Says:

    I love the celtic knot ram, and the t-shirts are glorious. I hope your goatie girls take the first time. You will have so much fun with all that milk!

Leave a Reply

