Black Sheep Weekend

I guess it’s good to be busy. Keeps me out of the bars at night, hee hee!

Wednesday evening I came over to the valley to take Kid the Younger and his fiancee to the airport early Thursday morning. They are off to Cleveland for a couple of weeks. I also kitty-napped his cat to come spend the summer with me. While they are gone I am taking advantage of their house to be able to sleep in an actual bed instead of the van, which is what I normally do during Black Sheep.

Ah, Black Sheep. I love this show. I missed it last year because of my shoulder surgery. I didn’t bring sheep, but I did help with showing. I handled this Image(2nd place Romeldale ram lamb) and this Image(1st place Romeldale ewe lamb, and also Reserve Champion). They and 1 other lamb also won the Romeldale Young Flock, which meant they got to come back in the ring at the end of the day for the big trophy. They didn’t win, but they were pulled into the middle of the ring for serious consideration which was  a big deal. The ewe lamb went home with my friend Correy, the ram lamb went home with my friend Jan, so my budget was saved from depletion. He was so funny because at one point I moved my hand from under his chin and his head fell, because he had fallen asleep in my hand! They are both from Reflection Farm in Eaton, Washington. 

Judging the Spinner’s Lead was a hoot. The entries get better and better. My breed Association has been asked (and agreed) to take over management of the Lead, and now that I’ve experienced it from both sides I have some ideas on some changes that I think will make it run a little smoother. I will talk them over with the lady who was the other judge to make sure that I’m not missing something. As a “thank you” for helping out, I was given a copy of “New England Knits”, and there are a couple of things in it that are in my knitting queue already.

The other fun part of the weekend was hooking a new spinner. She was watching me spin on my wheel, and we got to talking. I showed her my Golding spindle and how it worked. Pretty soon she wanders off to look at the vendor booths, then comes back to ask if I’ll look at some drop spindles with her. She now owns a Jenkins Swan turkish spindle and lots of roving, and when I showed her what to do turns out she’s a natural spinner! She was spinning lace weight from the get-go! ImageThis picture is when she had been spinning for all of 10 minutes! I told her it was all about getting the right teacher. She had to teach a knitting class Sunday afternoon, but we got together afterwards to answer a couple of questions, and she gifted me 2 of her patterns as a thank you.

And what was I spinning all weekend you might ask? ImageThat’s one of my Blue Skies batts (2/3 Romeldale, 1/3 rayon). Two ounces worked into 416 yards of laceweight yarn. I started the 2nd batt last night, hoping to finish all 3 before the Tour de Fleece starts. I’m thinking of working it into a lace shawl during the Ravelympics.

I’m staying in the valley until tomorrow, since I’ll be picking up turkeys and chicks from the hatchery in the morning. I’m getting 10 poults (I’ve already pre-sold 4 of them) and 50 chicks. I went with what the hatchery calls their “Fryer Pan Special”, all cockerels, instead of the Cornish Cross, which I find grow faster than I can deal with them. I can handle processing a few birds at a time, which should work out just fine. Need to start seriously looking for a freezer so that I have someplace to put them all! Mom lets me keep stuff in hers, but that means I have to plan ahead when I want something.

One more day to relax, then back to the grind! 

One Response to “Black Sheep Weekend”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Wow, sounds like everything worked out beautifully. So great to be able to pass on the tradition too. And your yarn! Yum!

Leave a Reply

