Where Does The Time Go?

The kiddos and I always twisted the standard saying, so we always say “Time’s fun when you’re having flies”. Funny how many people just nod, not realizing what I’ve really said.

It’s been a busy couple of weeks. I’ve continued to do a little baking for Kellie, usually at the last second (which is normally just fine). Driving. Knitting. Dealing with the beasties.

Let’s talk about driving first. For the long weekend, Kid the Younger came over and we went up to North Eastern Washington. He hit town Friday and we went and saw The Avengers. He’d seen it already, but I hadn’t. It was a fun movie, but then we like that kind of thing. Saturday morning I caught up all the sheep, haltered the ewes and treated them all with ivomec (the pour on I applied apparently did nothing, since my shearer found plenty of creepy-crawlies). Then we left the lambs locked in the barn and Kids Younger and Elder helped me move the mommies to a new pen. I love weaning when I won’t be there to hear the worst of the noise. Unfortunately I didn’t have a place to put the ewes that would be out of sight of the lambs, so weaning is a bit louder. By 2 pm, Kid the Younger and I were on the road. The plan was to get about half way to the wedding site (about 8 hours north of us), but the back cooperated and despite a little side trip that my phone GPS sent us on, we got to the party about 10:30. A few of the kids were drinking and dancing, so we joined them for a little while, and I got to swing dance with the groom (he’s much better at it than I am).

The wedding was lovely. The weather the day before had been rainy, but Sunday was beautiful if a bit windy. Friends of the bride’s family had done the flowers, and each table had a bouquet. During the ceremony there were 2 big gusts of wind, and when we came back around to the reception area, 3 of the bouquets had been tipped over. Only 3. And they were at the table that Kid the Younger and I were sitting at, the table where the bride for the next wedding was (she’s also Daughter’s college roommate), and the bride’s table. They were not the most exposed tables. We agreed that it was Daughter making her presence known (as if we thought she would miss the occasion).

I also managed to make the young lady who was Daughter’s roommate cry. As we were saying our goodbyes, I told her I had something in the car for her. I told her I would have knit Daughter a wedding shawl, and if she wanted one, there was one in the car for her. She could not have faked her reaction – she totally melted. I gave her the Snowflake Peacock, and it fit her perfectly (I was a little worried because she is very tall).   (pic is of shawl on my mom)

We didn’t go by the accident site because Kid the Younger was having an allergic reaction to something blooming in the pretty little valley. We got half way home that night, and back into town in time to go to the movies again. This time we saw Men In Black 3. Again, not a movie likely to win Oscars, but we both love the MIB movies.

The whole drive there was a little hiccup in my steering wheel. At high speeds it just shimmied. Didn’t feel like the car needed realigned, but something was weird. Well, on my way home from baking on Friday, the tread just peeled off one of the rear tire. Luckily I was almost home! Saturday morning Kid the Elder helped me put on the spare and I took it into our tire shop. Shimmy was still there, so I mentioned it. Tire guy said it sounded like I had another tire getting ready to fail. Short story – I now have 2 new tires. The other 2 look ok. I’m so glad this didn’t happen on one of the long trips!! Last weekend’s would have been bad enough, but this week we are headed out to the middle of nowhere, and if they had both failed at once it could have been really ugly.

Kid the Younger will hit town really early Friday morning, so rather than letting him sleep for 3 hours I’m just going to load him into my car and we’ll head out right away. We are facing a 13 hour drive, so I figure if I nap heavily on Thursday I can drive while he sleeps and then he can take over for a while. That way we’ll get to the party early enough to enjoy ourselves a bit that evening and get a good night’s sleep before the wedding. Sunday we’ll leave after brunch and head into Yellowstone. Not sure if we’ll take the side trip to see Old Faithful.

The sheep all survived my absence, but the ewes have figured out that the fence on their pen has been weakened (alpaca kept pushing through it when he was in the pen to get to grass on the other side). We have had several break-outs. The ewes left behind always rat out the escapees, and we round them up and I lace up the holes with more baling twine. It’d be funny if it was happening to someone else. The lambs are all fine. When I get back from Montana I’ll tackle halter breaking them.

On the knitting front I’ve made some progress on the monster socks. It’s a whole lot of plain white.  I’m most of the way done with the legs, but I set them aside for a while because the Muse struck. Yes, I knit both socks at the same time. That way when I’m done, I have a pair instead of having to start all over to make the 2nd sock. I alternate back and forth between the 2 so I can keep track.

So, what did the Muse demand? Four years ago, after Daughter passed I happened to have a cone of sock yarn waiting for color. I took the whole thing and dyed it in her honor. I call it “Dance Like Nobody’s Watching” (that was her motto in life). From it I knit socks for all the important people in her life (except Kid the Younger, who requested gloves). There was slightly more than 6 ounces left, and Thursday the Muse insisted that it become a shawl for me to wear to the Montana wedding. No pressure! I used the formula I came up with for the Ochoco Memories shawl and substituted leaf and rose patterns. I’m done with the first 2 points of the edging now, and I should be able to crank out the edging in a day and a half, so there is hope. The variegated yarn isn’t the best for showing off the lace, but this yarn makes me smile every time I look at it, and I know that the kids at the wedding will recognize it. That makes me smile too.

 Like most lace, it doesn’t look like much yet, but you can see how colorful it is. It won’t be a big shawl, since I’m dealing with a limited amount of yarn, but it will be super special. A bigger version will follow, probably with handspun during the Ravelympics.

One Response to “Where Does The Time Go?”

  1. Jennifer Nightingale Says:

    Love, love, love, the “dance” colors. Now there is someone who likes to “color outside the lines”.

Leave a Reply

