Getting Older (It’s Better Than The Alternative)

Sunday was my birthday. I am now 55, which means that one of the local county fairs will now require me to enter things as a senior.

I spent most of the day (as I have most of the week) helping a friend get her new house ready to move in to. My job has been painting the kitchen cabinets. Finished the second coat this afternoon, and will go back to hang the cabinet doors tomorrow. We put on all the hardware today so it should be pretty quick to finish up. It looks amazing, but it has been a lot of hard work. My back is hurting and I am looking forward to being done. I’ve wanted to paint my kitchen cabinets (need to decide on a color), so this has been good practice.

My 6-year-old amaryllis bloomed for my birthday, which was a nice treat. I got it at an after-christmas sale for $2.50, and this is the 4th or 5th time it has bloomed for me. Definitely got my moneys worth! 

Kid the Elder made dinner and a cake. Shrimp Pasta Primavera and garlic bread, and a pink lemonade cake. Yummy! 

And, he & his wife did good in the gift department too. Gardening goodies, and an immersion blender (I’d mentioned wanting one last week, and they found one at Goodwill).

And not to be outdone, I found a very special egg in the hen-house.  Beautiful, isn’t it? Looks perfect, until you see it next to a regular egg.

 Now, these hens have been laying for 10 months, and this is even littler than the pullet eggs they laid at first. It’s cute, but I’m glad that it’s the only one of its kind. Can’t even imagine how many of these it would take to make an omelet!

The lambies continue to grow by leaps and bounds. They’ve started to eat a little bit of grain, and Merlin is finishing off 16 to 24 ounces of milk 3 times a day.  I offered the bottle to Maeve a couple of days ago, and she sometimes chooses to find us and have an extra snack, which I am happy to provide since she isn’t fattening up as quickly as her brother. She isn’t taking much, but every little bit helps, and she’s already looking better. Merlin gets first dibs, then Maeve. If there is any left, I’ll let Malcolm have a sip too. He’s the first lamb I’ve ever had volunteer to take the bottle without prompting.

One Response to “Getting Older (It’s Better Than The Alternative)”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Belated happy birthday! Kind of tough being a senior at only 55. Love the egg shots. It’s amazing how different they can be from day to day. Glad to hear the lambs are doing well, too.

Leave a Reply

