Quick Trip

I made the decision Thursday to make a quick trip to the valley to visit Kid the Younger. The ewes are getting bigger every day, and it won’t be too long before I will need to be here for them while they lamb, and the weather looked like it was going to cooperate, so over the mountains I went.

It was a fairly quiet visit. We went hot-tubbing with some of his friends late Friday night (he didn’t get off work until 8 pm). Saturday we went to the movies (Lady in Black, still not sure how much I liked it) and out to dinner, then I came home Sunday.

It always amazes me how different everything is on the other side of the mountains. I didn’t think to take pictures while I was out walking around, so these were all taken from the car on the drive home, but they work.

 This was the view out my window when I had to stop for the trucks just finishing cleaning a mudslide off the road. Even in February, the west side of the mountains is green, green, green.

 This is near the summit (Santiam Pass). The road was just wet and rainy when I went over on Friday, so this is all new snow. It’s been a pretty dry winter. We used to drive this road all the time (sweetie’s parents lived in Salem), and there have been times that the snow on the sides of the road was higher than the roof of the full-size van I used to drive.

And this is the view closer to home, in an area that does not get irrigated. This is considered a “high desert”; minimal rainfall and some pretty impressive winds make for not a lot of growth Apply water and if it can stand the no guaranteed frost free period, it’ll grow. Challenging when it comes to home gardening, but lots of hay gets grown around here.

I got some knitting done while I was gone. Made the first test run through a pattern I designed on the fly. I’ll knit it once more from the directions I typed up to make sure it really works, take some pictures, and hopefully release it on Ravelry by the end of the week.

And I managed to finish spinning the 2 ounce batt of Midge (CVM)/alpaca/silk. I took the wheel instead of knitting to my mom’s knitting group Thursday afternoon (it’s her church group) and did a little show & tell with the things I’ve finished lately. They mostly knit prayer shawls, and most are tentative knitters at best, so I like to show them what else is possible. Most of them had not seen anyone spin before, so there were a lot of questions asked and answered. Ended up with 430 yards of 2-ply lace weight. It’s pretty yummy. I’m going to make up more of these batts before Fiber Market Day, so I’ll leave this a skein until them, but then I’ll have to come up with a special project for it.

One Response to “Quick Trip”

  1. Laura Says:

    And it was fun to see you when you got back!! Really, people, the feel of the yarn in the picture is divine!! Can’t wait to see what she does with it!!

Leave a Reply

