Modeling Mom

Yesterday I spent the evening with my mom. She had called to let me know that she had made some white chili and invited me to come over at some point during the day to help myself to some. Instead, I went over a bit before I knew she’d be home from her volunteer job at her church and put gingerbread into the oven and I also brought over salad fixings. I also brought over several things for her to model so that I could get pictures of them. I’m thinking to put the shawls in my Etsy shop.

First up is the Neibling shawl. The first picture gives a good idea of how big this is. Mom is 5 foot tall. It is incredibly light but very warm. I did not block it hard, just wet it and spread it out on my bed. Stretched it would have been enormous!   

This is the Snowflake Peacock, a pattern available for free on Ravelry. It is listed as semi-circular but is actually about 3/4. The edging is very ruffly, and it was hard to block because of those 2 factors. I like it, but I don’t think I love it.   

This is the first shawl I designed. It was supposed to be circular, but I messed up the math, so it is very full. I want to re-block it to get more stretch in the outer edge. The yarn is mill spun from my wool, and it was intended to be for a raffle the breed association was doing at Oregon Flock & Fiber a few years ago but I didn’t finish it in time (so I donated a different shawl). I want to redo the pattern to get the math right, but over-all I’m pretty happy with it. All of the patterns are rose lace patterns. 

And, the Zombie scarf in all its glory! Mom had fun with this one, as you can see. This was a fun knit, and not bad for only going off a picture

  

I’m glad I spent the evening with her, and should do it more often. She’s always so happy when I show up and have dinner with her. We don’t see eye to eye on a lot of things, but I know she tries to be supportive even if she doesn’t always succeed. Hard to believe she’s going to be 80 in a few months!

 

Leave a Reply

