What a Difference a Day Makes

And yeah, I’ve been humming that all morning long (guess that dates me, doesn’t it?)

Yesterday the wind blew all day long. Hard enough to flex the single pane windows, which can be a little nerve-wracking, but I’ve been in this house for a long time and (knock wood) nothing has ever happened. No trees next to the house, so at least I don’t have to worry about one crashing down on me. This morning I woke up to this:

 

Yep, snow. It has been snowing most of the day so far, with a little break that I took advantage of to get outside and feed the beasties. Really glad I filled all the waterers yesterday and rolled the hose up, a chore I had put off as long as possible, not quite willing to admit that winter is here. No denying it now. It’s not the earliest we’ve ever gotten snow, but I don’t enjoy the extra work it brings. If the wood would just bring itself in to the house so I could enjoy the wood stove that’d be great, and if it wasn’t such a huge battle to keep the hose clear of ice. A girl can dream, right? I know, I know, normal people dream about having expensive sports cars and mansions. I dream of heated hoses (you knew they make those, right?). I’m a sheep farmer. A new barn, full of good hay, that’s the stuff that makes my knees weak.  A bunch of us talked once about what we would get if we won the lottery, and the consensus seemed to lean towards new pick-ups and matching stock trailers. Be still my foolish heart!

 NaNo continues. I’ve slowed a bit, but I’m still at over 28,000 words. I can hardly believe it. The story has taken on a life of its own. I go to sleep thinking about what I’m going to write the next day, but once I start writing the characters seem to have their own ideas. They are currently traveling across country in a horse-drawn wagon (it fits, since it’s a pre-industrial society). Last night I figured that I’d write about the area that they are traveling through, fluff mostly cuz I’m under pressure to come up with another 22,000 words. Today my heroine is charging a pack of wolves on horse back, yelling at the top of her lungs. Who knew she was so feisty?

In my spare moments I’m knitting, either on the baby socks (not much new to see there since there’s no shaping or anything). The sweater is a little more impressive:

The main color is still off in this pic, but that’s the first repeat of the fair isle pattern. There will be four repeats in the body of the sweater, so it feels like I’m really getting somewhere. I know I’ve still got a long way to go, but at least I’m getting some done. Laura has been nice enough to defer to my opinion on the few things I’ve asked about, so that’s nice. I think it’s going to be really nice once it’s blocked. Really glad that I redid the corrugated ribbing, cuz my gauge is spot on now. After NaNo I’ll be alternating this with reading the latest Stephen King book, which I’m not letting myself start until I’m done with writing this month. I’m a huge fan of his, and I am really looking forward to this one – how would things be different if JFK hadn’t been shot.

I’m also excited that Thanksgiving is next week. Turkey is thawing in mom’s fridge. I’ll bring it home to brine and cook closer to Thursday. She hates the mess, and my oven is bigger anyway. Plus it is my bird. We all get together at her house, because it just works better for gatherings, but we all cook and bring stuff, so it doesn’t all fall on one person. Much more enjoyable for everyone that way. If I don’t talk to you before then, I hope you have a great holiday and enjoy the ones you spend it with. Stay safe all!

One Response to “What a Difference a Day Makes”

  1. Leigh Says:

    I love, love, love the Fair Isle! Gorgeous colors, even if the pic is off, and they usually are, aren’t they. I love your dreams too! Who wouldn’t want a heated water hose after living with the alternative, LOL.

    I have to say I’m always interested in your writing progress. I have actually resumed working on my own book, though it’s just my own story so not so intriguing. Still, commitment to writing is an important thing.

Leave a Reply

