A little progress

I did a little shopping this week, and managed to find a few things that I can use for my booth.  Went with my farm colors (black and red) for table colors, and will use gold for accents. Also spent a bit of time online looking at booth layout ideas, and got a few to work towards.

I also started one of the spec wedding shawls, since I talked to my friend about using a corner of her wedding show booth in January to hang a few. This is the Snowflake Peacock from MMario on Ravelry. I’m doing it as 5 wedges (basically a semi-circle), using the alpaca lace I got from Laura. One skein went into a ball beautifully, but the other constantly fell apart, ending up in 8 balls of varied sizes.  I’m working this one out of the many balls. It’s giving me lots of practise with joins. As always, at this point it really doesn’t look like much. I’m on row 102 of 200, so moving right along.

The weather is moving steadily away from the summer that hardly was. We never broke 100 this year, which is very unusual. It almost always happens during fair week. Yesterday and today were cloudy and a bit rainy, but things cleared up so I could feed and get a shot of the sunset:

 

Still need to shear the last 2 ewes and the ram and get a breeding group set up if I’m going to have any lambs next spring. Hopefully I can make a little progress on that front tomorrow.

Now I am off to the drum carder for a couple of hours. If I can do a bit every week, maybe I’ll have more things to sell at the Fiber Market Day in March without doing it all at the last second. Tonites’ goal: at least four 2 ounce batts of superwash. I’ve got several pounds of mill ends to combine, so it’s just a start.

 

Leave a Reply

