Still Recovering

I am such a bad cripple. I want to be better NOW. But the docs and therapists keep telling me that the easier I take things now, the quicker I’ll recover over all. Last Friday I got the ok to drive, but I’m still not allowed to feed. Thank goodness for oldest and his wife. They have come over every day and fed and watered the beasties.

Progress has been slowed on the Brin Redux shawl. I went into surgery with 10 of 32 points done. Last night I got to the half way point. At least I had the fore sight to start a pair of socks to keep me sane while I recover. Started them the morning of surgery, got to the heel flaps before they took me in. I’m now half way through the gusset on one and starting the gusset on the other. I’m using some of the yarn I got at Woodland Woolworks at their closing sale. It’s called Maizy (82% corn, 18% elastic, made by Crystal Palace). Not sure if I like it; it is very loosely plied and I keep splitting the yarn. I have enough of it for 2 pairs at least. The one I’m working on is “Turf”, working up very camo looking. No pattern, since I was going for truly mindless knitting (kind of mandatory, due to pain killers).

I started the Tour de Fleece on Ravelry yesterday. I’m on 3 teams. Didn’t spin much, and was using the electric. The shoulder said quit after about half an hour. On the wheel I’m going to have to manage an unsupported long draw with my right hand, something I’ve never done before. Live and learn.

Today I have been smoking a 15 pound brisket that eldest son brought over. Slow going. It’s been on since about 10 am (so about 6 1/2 hours so far), and probably has at least 6 more hours to go. I’m using an apple tree that didn’t survive as the smoke wood, and did a dry rub of salt, pepper and garlic. It smells so good already! I should be working on the potato salad that I said I’d bring to our 4th of July feast tomorrow, but that’s going to require a trip to the store, and my back isn’t up to it right now. Maybe later, or maybe tomorrow morning. Gotta listen to the back (which is not at all happy with how sedentary I’ve been over the last week)

And the youngest should be home tonite or tomorrow! Got a job in town, so he’ll be here all summer, but I’m eager to hear all about his trip to Europe (Finland, Russia, Estonia, Latvia, and Paris). Plus, I’m supposedly getting a present out of the deal, so it’ll be interesting to see what that is…

Last, but definitely not least, I found out that Brin entered her wedding shawl in the Spinner’s Lead at Black Sheep Gathering and won! Sounds like the prizes for that have gotten much better (at least according to what Laura won for her two entries). Wish I could have been there to see. This is the first BSG I’ve missed in forever.

Leave a Reply

