Hello world!

Well folks, this is my first attempt at blogging, so bear with me as I get my bearings. I’ve never been the kind of girl who faithfully kept a diary, so this is all new to me.

Who am I? I’m a sheep farmer, spinner and knitter living in beautiful central Oregon. Jobs around here tend to either be upper end (lots of doctors and lawyers semi-retire here) or minimum wage (for the rest of us). Not a lot of middle ground unfortunately. That’s where I got the title, since it is a very common saying around here. The view off my back deck encompasses a great swath of the Cascade Mountains, from Mt. Bachelor to Mt Hood.

I raise Romeldale/CVM sheep, one of the most endangered breeds in the U.S. I’ve been vice-president of the American Romeldale/CVM Association (ARCA) since it was started in 2000. For those of you not familiar with Romeldales, they are a fine wool sheep (think merino without the temperment). They come in an amazing variety of colors including the CVM, which is a variegated grey. Lots of them have spots and stripes, so it makes a very interesting yarn. Dyed a single color, it will give you a heathered yarn with a lot of variations in it without the work of blending colors.

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. Gaylene Says:

    I am looking of a registered CVM ram to put with my ewes. I live in colorado and my flock came out of Myrtle Dow’s flock so I am looking for something unrelated. Please let me know if you have any possibilities. I have a great ram the is needing a new home if you can help any on that one.

    thanks,
    Gaylene

Leave a Reply

